Skagen power plant
  • Hydro's ownership: 100%
  • Installed capacity: 252 MW
  • Production: 1 439 GWh / year
  • Number of generators: 6

The Skagen power plant was completed in 1959 and was the first of the Fortun plants.

Skagen was built mainly to supply electricity to the aluminium industry in Årdal when Tyin alone could not meet the entire energy need. Since then, the power plants at Herva and Fivlemyr were added to cover the growing demand. The Skagen power station has a water drop of 967 meters from the Skålavatnet reservoir, which in turn gets its water supply from the Herva and Fivlemyr power plants.

Skagen produces electricity using six Pelton turbines.

Updated: April 6, 2016