Skip to content

ICMM was founded in 2001 after a multi-stakeholder research initiative identified the mining industry’s potential contributions to a sustainable society. The council brings together 21 mining and metals companies as well as 33 national and regional mining associations and global commodity associations to address core sustainable development challenges. ICMM member companies are required to make a public commitment to improve their sustainability performance and report against their progress on an annual basis.

Hydro’s President and CEO, Hilde Merete Aasheim, represents the company in the ICMM council, and Head of New Business & Sustainable Development, Giuliana Larice, is the company representative in the Principal Liaisons Committee. Hydro participates in projects and committees as appropriate. Financial contributions are given as ordinary membership fees.

We report according to the ICMM requirements. That includes Hydro's reporting in accordance with the GRI Standards. This is covered in Hydro’s Annual report and the reporting is prepared in line with the requirements found in the ICMM 10 principles and position statements.